Mauritanie1ーTournant de la vie

English, Español, Français, 日本語

La vie a plusieurs, sinon beaucoup, des points tournants. Et la décision d’emménager en Mauritanie, pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest que je ne connaissais pas du tout, était sans doute l’un des points tournants.

À cet égard, cette entrée traite de l’analyse du processus de prise de décision importante. Je affinerai de  (1) Pourquoi l’Africa, (2) Pourquoi l’Afrique d’Ouest, et (3) Pourquoi la Mauritanie , en espérant que cela servira en quelque sorte pour moi de déballer mon passé dans le futur, et idéalement pour quelqu’un d’autre (pour avoir une idée concernent comment un point tournant d’une personne a été pris.

Pourquoi l’Africa

Origin du hip hop, de la musique, de l’art moderne et de l’être humain

L’Afrique est un grand continent composé de nombreux pays, dont chacun a des différentes groupes ethniques, langues et cultures. Donc la richesse et la diversité du continent sont quelque chose d’exceptionnelle.

Au premier regard, il n’y avait aucun lien entre ma vie et l’Afrique. Mais en regardant en arrière, la première rencontre a au lorsque j’étais étudient de l’unicersité où j’ai commencé à danser break dance. Cet danse est une partie de la culture hip hop qui est né dans les années 70 à New York, avec ses racines en Afrique. Par rapport à l’histoire de danse, le premier objectif était pour le service du rituel, ce qui peut être vu dans la peinture rupestre des funérailles égyptiennes où les femmes ont dansé pour exprimer le chagrin des pleureuses (Histoire de la danse). L’Inde et la Grèce seraient également considérés comme l’origine.

Aussi, l’Afrique est l’origine de jazz et l’art moderne (les deux sont mes favoris). D’après l’article de the Guardian “10 things that Africa has given the world” (10 choses que Afrique a donné au monde), 《Chaque élément de la musique – le rythme, l’harmonie, le mélodie et le forme de base du Jazz – est essentiellement en l’Afrique.  Aussi, au début des années 1900, l’esthétique de la sculpture traditionnelle africaine est devenue ce que le Met Museum de New York décrit comme «une influence puissante parmi les artistes européens qui ont formé une avant-garde dans le développement de l’art moderne».

L’être humain moderne est également d’origine africaine. «100 choses que vous ne saviez pas sur l’Afrique (100 things that you did not know about Africa) » ont mis le premier fait sur 100 que les squelettiques les plus anciens connus des humains modernes (ou homo sapiens) out été fouilles sur des sites en Afrique de l’Est. Des restes humains ont été découverts à l’Omo en Ethiopie, datés à 195 000 ans, le plus ancien connu dans le monde.

Donc, en tant que personne qui apprécie tous ces éléments (hip hop, jazz, danse, art et l’être humain), comment ne pas être attirée par l’Afrique?

Curiosité

Depuis que j’ai commencé à travailler dans le domaine de développement, l’Afrique a été en mi tête, car c’est l’un des continents plus pauvres (économiquement, pas culturellement). Appuyer la population vulnérable était mon énergie pour me pousser dans ce domaine de travail.  J’ai  même pensé que sans connaître l’Afrique, je ne serais pas être confiant de dire que je travaille dans le domaine du développement

Intérêt de bouger

En tant que voyageir, je voulais déménager, et comme je n’étais jamais venu en l’Afrique, l’atterrissage dans ce continent était toujours mon rêve. Pour l’accomplir, je ne devais que trouver chaque opportunité ou un moyen de venir ici.

Pourquoi l’Africa d’ouest

Parmi tant de pays de ce continent, j’ai choisi la région de l’Afrique de l’Ouest sans aucun doute, à cause de la langue français. Depuis que j’ai rencontré cette langue au Chili, lorsque je travaillais à l’UNESCO et recevais un e-mail en anglais et français tous les jours (la siège de l’organisation est à Paris) l’amélioration du français était mon objectif à long terme. Malgré le progress que j’ai fait à travers d’étude personnelle (avec des libres et CD), ce n’était pas avancé comme je le voulais.  Ma petite graine française grandissait jour après jour.

Quand j’ai eu un entretien un peu rare en Mongolie (pour le même poste pour autre superviseur), je me souviens avoir dit que mon objectif à mi-parcours était de décrocher un emploi en l’Afrique de l’Ouest pour améliorer mon français et connaître l’Afrique. Ma petite graine française grandissait jour après jour.

Pourquoi la Mauritanie

Franchement parler, c’était un mélange de choix et coïncidence.

J’ai postulé pour un programme de Junior Professional Officer (JPO), (peut-être sur lequel je vais écrire plus tard), puis j’ai réduit les choix par l’organisation spécifique, l’éducation et un pays francophone dans l’Afrique d’ouest.

J’ai mis la Mauritanie comme deuxième priorité (comme il n’y avait que deux choix de pays francophone dans le liste). Et voilà j’ai été sélectionné. Pour être honnête, quand j’ai vu la lettre d’approbation qui a dit Mauritanie en lettre gros, Je n’avais aucun idée de ce qui allait arriver car je ne connaissais rien de ce pais à part le fait que c’était un pays francophone.

Avant d’arrivée

Au fil du temps, venir en Mauritanie est devenu de plus en plus réel. En revanche, la quantité d’information sur le pays que je pouvais obtenir restait très limitée.

Tout ce que je pouvais m’imaginer sera un pays islamique très strict sans divertissement principal ni alcool. De plus, à côté de la sécurité (ce qui semblait être bien car c’est un pays qui permit d’amener membre de famille), le service de base avait l’air très limité. Par exemple, plus de 10 vaccinations ont été encouragés. C’est-à-dire q’une bonne planification et préparation étaient nécessaires  avant d’arriver.

L’arrivée

Après un long transit à Paris, l’aéroport de Mauritanie et mon chauffeur nous ont accueilli,

Même si c’était claire que l’alcool était interdit, je voulais faire une petit expérience en mettent 2 bouteilles de vin dans la valise remplie de liquide de cuisson (sauce soja, sauce de poisson, saké de cuisine, etc.) comme un camouflage.

Lorsque cette valise noire était en train de traverser une machine de sécurité, je souhaitais que rien ne se passerait…

Malheureusement, la vie n’est pas si facile, mes amis.

“il y a quelque chose dedans cette valise” dit un homme noir avec une grande robe religieux avec un visage grincheux.

“oh, ils ont trouvé” malgré ma pensée intérieure, j’ai continué à prétendre que je ne savais pas ce que ce passait.

“Ouvre ça!” l’autre homme est venu me faire pression. Je l’ai ouvert et montré d’autres liquide de cuisine, comme si je disais “c’est ce que vous voulez dire?”

“Non, bouteille!”

Oh mon dieu…. Quand j’ai passé 2 bouteilles, mon chauffeur est venu disant que “hé, ce monsieur est diplomate!”

Il y avait un silence de 5 seconds inconfortables.

Donc l’home a poussé son bras droit en avant et a tiré le bras gauche, en disant

“alors vous obtenez une bouteille”

QUOI ???

Oui. ils m’ont laissé avec 1 bouteille de vin chilien, qui est traitée comme une famille tresure à cette date.

Impression

Tout est diffèrent et a l’air difficile (l’arabe, des noirs, l’islam strict sans alcool, le temps chaud, le français). La bonne côte est la nourriture, en particulier les fruits de mer et les poissons, ce sont des choses qui manquaient à la Mongolie (pays enclavé). Et la ville a plein de sable et de coquillages comme montrée ci-dessous (car il est au-dessous du niveau de la mer).

On va voir comment tout se passera en Mauritanie.

L’apprentissage de cette fois-ci 

J’ai appris que le point tournant de la vie n’est pas ce que vous attendez, mais ce qui on doit saisir par curiosité, opportunités et action. Le première période est la période la plus difficile, et plus vous changez, plus ce sera difficile mais plus on apprendra quand on les surmontera. C’est quelque chose qu’on sait dans notre esprit, mais c’est encore difficile quand on est dans cette période. Il faudra donc juste rire à tous les défis des années plus tard.

Merci d’avoir lu cet blog. Si vous l’aimez, n’oubliez pas de souscrire. Si vous avez quelque commentaire ou question, n’hésitez pas à écrire. Bon apprentissage!

2 thoughts on “Mauritanie1ーTournant de la vie

  1. Uyanga

    Hi Hiro,
    It’s good to hear your news from Mauritania ! Very different and very interesting country you’re based now. Keep us posted with your new adventures.
    Oh, and your blog reminded me of your different language skills and again motivated me to keep learning new languages.
    Best of luck,

    Reply
    1. MD Post author

      Hi Uyanga, thanks for visiting and leaving your message. Let’s keep learning and have meaningful days! I wish your best as well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mauritania 1ーLife turning point

English, Español, Français, 日本語

The life has several, if not many, turning points. And the decision to move in Mauritania, west African country totally unknown to me, was definately one of the turning points.

In this regrad, this entry deals with analysis of a decision making process. I will narrow down from (1) Why Africa, (2) Why West Africa and to (3) Why Mauritania, hoping this will serve in some way for me to unpack my past in the future, and ideally for someone else to have an insight on how a decision of one person’s life turning point was made.

Why Africa

Origin of hip hop, music, modern art and human being

Africa is a big continent consisting of many countries, each of which has many different ethnic groups, languages and cultures. So richness and diversity of this continent is something outstanding.

At the first glance, there was no link between my life and Africa. But looking back, it seems that the first encounter was made when I was a in university where I started break dance. This dance is a part of hip hop culture which started in the 70s in New York, with its roots in Africa. When it comes to dance itself, the first purpose was for the service of ritual, which can be seen in the cave painting of Egyptian funerals where women danced to express the grief of the mourners (History of Dance). India and Greece are also considered as the origin of it as well.

Also, Africa has its origin in jazz and modern art (both are my favorite). According to the article of the Guardian “10 things that Africa has given the world“, “every musical element – rhythm, harmony, melody, timbre, and the basic forms of jazz – is essentially African in background and derivation”. Also, In the early 1900s the aesthetics of traditional African sculpture became what the Met Museum in New York describes as “a powerful influence among European artists who formed an avant-garde in the development of modern art”.

The modern human being is also of African origin. The “100 things that you did not know about Africa” confidently put the first fact out of 100 that the oldest known skeletal remains of anatomically modern humans (or homo sapiens sapiens) were excavated at sites in East Africa. Human remains were discovered at Omo in Ethiopia that were dated at 195,000 years old, the oldest known in the world.

So as a person who appreciates all those elements (hip hop, jazz, dance, modern art and human beings), how can I not be attracted by Africa?

Curiosity

Since I started working in the field of development, Africa has been always in the upfront, mainly because it is the poorest continent (economically, not culturally). So I was always intrigued by knowing about this country, as helping vulnerable population was my energy to boast myself within this area of work. I even thought without knowing Africa, probably I will not confidently say that I work in development field (just my case though).

Interest to move on 

As a traveller, I also wanted to move on, and as I had never been to Africa, landing at Africa was always my small dream. To make that dream come true, I just had to find any opportunity or execuse to come here.

Why West Africa

Amongst so many countries in this continent, I chose the region of West Africa without any hesitation, because of French language. Ever since I met this language in Chile when I received  e-mails in French and English almost every day while working at UNESCO (whose head quarter sits in Paris), improving French was one of my long term goal. Despite the progres I made through personal study (books and CD), my progress was stagnated.

When I was having an odd job interview in Mongolia for the same post for different supervisor, I remember having said that my mid-term goal was to land a job in West Africa to improve my French and know Africa. My small French seed was growing up day by day.

Why Mauritania

Frankly speaking, it was a mixture of the choice and coincidence.

I applied to Junior Professional Officer Program  (about which I might write later), then narroed down choices from specific organization, education section to French speaking countries in West Africa.

I put Mauritania as a second priority (as there were only 2 French speaking family duty stations in the list). And I was selected. To be honest, when I saw the letter of approval stating Mauritania in bold letter, I had no clue whatsoever about what was to happen, as I knew nothing about Mauritania apart from French speaking country.

Before arrival

As time went by, coming to Mauritania became more and more real. On the contrary, the amount of information about the country remained very limited.

All I could imagine would be strick islamic country with no major entertaiment nor alchol. Also, beside the security (which seemed to be quite ok as it was family station), basic service was very limited. For instance, more than 10 vaccinations were encouraged to take outside. That is, good planning and preparation were needed before arriving.

Arrival

After long transit in Paris, Mauritania airport and my job driver welcomed us.

Although it was clear that alcohol was prohibited, I wanted to do an experiment by putting 2 bottles of wine in the suitcase with full of cooking riquid (soy sauce, fish sauce, cooking sake, etc.) as a camoflage.

When that black suitcase was passing security machine, I was just hoping nothing would happen.

But the life is not that easy, boy.

“There is somethign inside” one black guy with big religious robe says with grumpy face.

(Oh, they found it…) despite my inner thought, I kept pretending that I didn’t know what was going on.

“Open it!” the other guy came to pressure me. I opened the suitcase and showed other cooking riquid, as if saying “is it what you meant?”

“Non, boteille! (No, bottle).

Oh dear…. When I passed 2 bottles, my driver came to say “hey, this guy is diplomat!”

There was uncomfortable 5 seconds’ silence.

Then the guy pushed his right arm forward and pull left arm out, saying

“Then you get ONE”

WHAT ???

Yes. they let me in with 1 bottle of Chilean wine, which is treated as a family tresure to this date.

Impression

Everything is different and seems to be difficult (arab, black, strict muslim and non-alchol, extremely hot weather, French, etc.). The good part is food, in particular seafood and fish, which are something Mongolia was missing (landlocked country). And the capitalーNouakchottー has full of sand and shellfish, as it is below the sea level. This has changed my image of the capital I have known so far.

Let’s see how everything goes in Mauritania.

The learning of this time

I learned that the turning point is not what you wait for, but something you grab through curiosity, opportunity and action. The first period is the most difficult time, and the more change you get through, the more you learn when you overcome, which I know in my mind but it is still challenging when you are in that period. Just laugh at all the challenges years later. 

Thank you for reading. If you like it, please don’t forget to subscribe. If you have any comment/question, please feel free to leave. Have a great learning!

ーーーーーーーーー

2 thoughts on “Mauritania 1ーLife turning point

  1. Uyanga

    Hi Hiro,
    It’s good to hear your news from Mauritania ! Very different and very interesting country you’re based now. Keep us posted with your new adventures.
    Oh, and your blog reminded me of your different language skills and again motivated me to keep learning new languages.
    Best of luck,

    Reply
    1. MD Post author

      Hi Uyanga, thanks for visiting and leaving your message. Let’s keep learning and have meaningful days! I wish your best as well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.